Return to Headlines

WSD Honors 22 Distinguished Service Award Recipients During Opening Day Convocation


2019 Distinguished Service Award recipients


The Wauwatosa School District recognized 22 staff members as recipients of the 2019 Distinguished Service Award during its Opening Day convocation with staff on August 29. 

Each year parents, staff, and students are invited to nominate staff members for the Distinguished Service Award, which recognizes staff members that go “above and beyond” normal expectations and that embody exemplary service and dedication in their work. 

Staff members selected as recipients of the award are recognized in front of all District staff during the District’s kick-off for the new school year. 

To be nominated, staff must have been employed by the District for at least three years and cannot be recognized more than once every three years. 

When making its decision, a committee of the school board considers (1) demonstrated services to the District which are distinguishable by excellence; (2) quantity and quality of accomplishments listed in the nominating paragraph; and (3) overall realization of this person’s going "above and beyond" normal expectations.

Congratulations to the 2019 Distinguished Service Award recipients below:

  1. Melissa Adams - Wilson/WSTEM Administrative Assistant
  2. Ryan Anderson - West High School Buildings and Grounds Custodian
  3. Stephanie Bauer - Eisenhower Elementary 1st Grade Teacher
  4. Paige Brown - McKinley 2nd Grade Teacher
  5. Hannah Fuhrman - Eisenhower Elementary School 4th Grade Teacher
  6. Andrew Hancock - High School GED Program Teacher
  7. Michael Hayden - East High School & Longfellow Middle School Orchestra Teacher
  8. Jean Hoffmann - McKinley Elementary Principal
  9. Guy Kammerer - West High School Band Teacher
  10. Teri Kandel - East High School Physical Education Teacher
  11. Jenny Keats - Underwood Elementary Principal
  12. Jennifer Lato - East High School Band Teacher
  13. Julie Martin - Lincoln Elementary Schoo 5th Grade Teacher
  14. Alyssa Meyer - Roosevelt Elementary, Eisenhower Elementary & Whitman Middle School Technology Support
  15. Tami Nelsen - Lincoln Elementary 1st Grade Teacher
  16. Judith Patrick - East High School Chemistry Teacher
  17. Katie Petitt - McKinley Elementary SK Teacher
  18. Adam Steffan - West High School Theatre Director/Teacher
  19. Amanda Voigtlander - Lincoln Elementary School Speech/Language
  20. Susan Volz - East High School Special Education Teacher
  21. Michael Walhovd - East High School Math Teacher
  22. Lauren Wolter - Longfellow Middle School 7th Grade Teacher