Return to Headlines

Wauwatosa Students Earn Awards in Scholastic Art & Writing Competition

Dozens of students from both Wauwatosa East and West high schools were recognized with honors in the 2022 Wisconsin Scholastic Art and Writing competition. The annual competition recognizes exceptional student artists statewide and features three levels of awards: Gold Key, Silver Key, and honorable mention. 


All Gold and Silver Key winners will be on display at the Milwaukee Art Museum from February 5 through March 20, 2022. 


Fifty-six Tosa East students earned awards, the most for any single school in the state. This included seven Gold Keys, 17 Silver Keys and 32 honorable mentions. All four levels of classes were represented in the award winners, as were students of all four of the school’s art teachers. 


Additionally, two Tosa East student portfolios—created by Tess Murrah and Evelyn Schumann—were among just eight selected statewide for the Gold Key award. 


Twenty-nine Tosa West students earned awards, including four Gold Keys, 11 Silver Keys, and 14 honorable mentions. All four levels of classes were represented in the award winners, as were students of all three of the school’s art teachers. Jami Timmons’ photography portfolio was also recognized with a Gold Key award.


The following students were recognized in the 2022 Scholastic Art and Writing Competition!



Wauwatosa East: Neave Donovan, Tess Murrah, Lily Nikolic, Antonio Riofrio, Evelyn Schumann, Shea Sidner and Melina Voravong. 


Wauwatosa West: Sky Greer, Rue Jacobson, Eve Lazarski and Jami Timmons. 



Wauwatosa East: Charlie Burzynski, Owen DeBoer, Nate Heus, Lucy Hildebrand, Andrew Holton, Quinn Lanke, Alex Lewis-Penland , Tess Murrah, Claire Nistler, Ellie Owley, Antonio Riofrio, Sophia Sauseda, Shea Sidner, Grace St. Denis and Emma Stevens. 


Wauwatosa West: Calista Albert, Cate DiCastri, Sky Greer, Charis Hoze, Rue Jacobson, Eve Lazarski, Maya Le, Danyae Morgan and Taylor Tatum-Pace. 



Wauwatosa East: Maddie M. Bartz, Kate Charlson, Stuart Doperalski, Neave Donovan, Ava Ferguson, Nate Heus, Lucy Hildebrand, Thora Holst, Lillian Kessler, Nathalia Luchini, Tess Murrah, Ellie Owley, Luciana Perez, Antonio Riofrio, Olivia Scallon, Shea Sidner, Owen Spahr, Emma Stevens, Melina Voravong, Abby Volland and Isabel Waier. 


Wauwatosa West: Cate DiCastri, Paige Elliot, Ben Everts, Cooper Krause, Sky Greer, Caressa Heit, Lauren Laserstein, Maya Le, Makayla Stinson, Haley Thortensen and Rebecca Vertal.